Last of Us - A Brief Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:53 am

Last of Us - A Brief Review

(Spoiler free)

OK, I donít have a lot of time to write a full review of this game but feel it deserves some mention.† This game is an amazing modern video game masterpiece.† Itís a tour de force of writing, acting and storytelling. Itís an amazing experience from start to finish and was able to strike an emotional cord at several points along the way.† Powerful is the best way to sum up the story in one word.† Itís very mature and Naughty Dog did not pull any punches.† Everything about the game feels polished and well executed.† The gameplay is solid but, like most Naughty Dog games, itís more like playing an interactive movie.† The voice acting, writing and story are so good and well executed and everything is wrapped up smoothly together.† Little things like the dialog between characters during the normal gameplay sequences or being able to discern the events of a location from the textural clue helps put it over the top.†

Itís also a survival story and the gameplay does a good job of making you aware.† Supplies are limited and you really have to choose wisely how you use them.† You can craft different item to help you along the way but each item uses up supplies and you have to choose which item is more important at that time.† Some items use the same type of supplies so you might have to decide if a make-shift bomb or a new shiv is more important.† Of if a Molotov or med-pack is more important.† And because you can only carry a limited supply of items and supplies, having to choose is something you will do quite often. ††Bullet are also limited so you never have a lot at any point during the game.† And itís not like other games were eventually you have more sh1t than you know what to do with.† In fact I had less supplies at the end of the game than I did during more of the rest of the game.

In the end the gameplay, story, acting and writing all come together to make one of the best gaming experiences I have ever had.† Naughty Dog has done it again and created something very special.† If you have a chance, you need to play this game.† All in all is about a 15-20 hour single player experience with what I hear is also a pretty fun MP some too but I have yet to play that.† Truly one of the best games in this generation of games, maybe even the best.† Check it out!† And don't let the "zombie" thing throw you off it that is not you thing.† First they put an interesting and unique twist on the mythology and the cause of the plague but mostly, it's not about that at all.† It's a journey of the two main characters and one of the most powerful games I have ever experienced.†

Play.† This.† Game.

~Zak

*Any personal thoughts, comments or questions?† Be sure to post them up.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:46 pm

Is this a PS3 game or for both? †I've heard very little about the game but have an odd feeling that I wanted to play it. †However, if it's not on the 360 it will be a no go for me.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet /†PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current †Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6735
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:07 pm

Sorry bro. PS3 exclusive.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:00 pm

d@mn, oh well. †I remember the guys on a next gen console vid making some comment about people will buy a PS4 so they can play the second one when they most likely make it.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet /†PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current †Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6735
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:18 am

That is true.† Naughty Dog is definitely one of my favorite game developers and they are a Sony first party studio.† And it's definitely a part of why I chose a PS4 for my next console too.† But the same can be said for MS exclusive games too.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by Xpert2010 on Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:25 am

Crash Bandicoot was awesome.

_________________

Current Xbox Game(s):
Current PC Game(s): Tales of Zestiria
Current†3DS Game(s):
Current Wii U Game(s):

Xpert2010
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1788
Join date : 2012-04-24
Age : 26
GamerTag : Xpert2010

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:33 am

Sounds great. †Hope I get to play it someday.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Tue Jun 25, 2013 9:59 pm

It's kinda odd that I probably would have enjoyed a PS3 a bit more than an Xbox (at least the exclusives), but I probably wouldn't have met this group if I didn't get an Xbox.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet /†PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current †Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6735
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Tue Jun 25, 2013 10:46 pm

S7 SockPuppet wrote:It's kinda odd that I probably would have enjoyed a PS3 a bit more than an Xbox (at least the exclusives), but I probably wouldn't have met this group if I didn't get an Xbox.
True true. I love having both.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by BonzOmega on Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:36 pm

this game is pretty amazing.

just got to play a few games online but got totally hooked.

unfortunately multiplayer is MEANT to play with good communication.
add me to PSN - BonzOmega

i'll be on tomorrow night and would love to play some multiplayer, specially with S7 homies!

BonzOmega
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Posts : 111
Join date : 2011-11-22
Age : 38
Location : Pauls Valley, OK
GamerTag : BonzOmega

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:20 pm

BonzOmega wrote:this game is pretty amazing.

just got to play a few games online but got totally hooked.

unfortunately multiplayer is MEANT to play with good communication.
add me to PSN - BonzOmega

i'll be on tomorrow night and would love to play some multiplayer, specially with S7 homies!

Sorry I missed this post.† I have not played the MP for this game yet.† Still playing through the SP for a 2nd time now but I'll try and hit you up.† GT: Interseptor_

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Last of Us - A Brief Review

Post by Sponsored content Today at 10:38 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum