Opinions on new headsets

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 ceebunks on Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:55 am

I am fairly new to xbox and have been thinking about buying a new headset. I would like ones with surround sound. My questions is what do other in the clan have and how do you like them. Any thoughts would be helpful.

S7 ceebunks
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Posts : 87
Join date : 2011-10-04
Age : 36
Location : Ofallon, MO
GamerTag : S7 ceebunks

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Epic on Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:05 pm

Astro's are gonna be the go-to headset, or at least the mixamp is.

I have the SteelSeries 5xB's and the sound quality, build quality and comfort of them is excellent. However, the mixamp that comes with them is a little flimsy tbh but they'd still be my 2nd choice after the Astro's - Perhaps look at the Wireless 7xB version..? Trittons and Turtle Beach just seem to break a lot but I know we have a few members who use them.

S7 Epic
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 3130
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 28
Location : Leeds, UK
GamerTag : S7 Epic DDN

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Interseptor on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:02 pm

Well, I have the Astro A30's and find them to be quite excellent. There is a very long discussion/review I wrote up here http://sacredseven.prodiscussion.net/t2709-astro-a30-s-received?highlight=Astro+A30

Feel free to check it out. Lots of good information there. I also know a few guys here seem very happy with the SteelSeries 5xB's the Epic mentioned above. The quality seem to be very good on those and they would probably be my second choice, especially if I was on a budget. And lastly, if I was on a really tight budget I would pick up the Turtle Beach XL1's. I bought some for my 10 year old and was pretty impressed with the build quality for a $40 headset. Sound was great too.

Also, I would consider the Tritton Warhead 7.1 wireless system that is supposed to be out this Christmas. I think it will be about $200 (or less) and will be the only fully wireless solution for a headset with chat for the Xbox 360.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8542
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Glock on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:10 pm

Personally since I've got two pair in my house. I like the Astro A30s

_________________

S7 Glock
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 1771
Join date : 2010-02-24
Age : 38
Location : Pueblo West, CO
GamerTag : S7 Glock

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 mrmiller on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:26 pm

I have had no problems with my Turtle Beach X41's. I'm interested in the new Trittons as well, but will have to see what the reviews (and price) is when they release.

~mrmiller

_________________

We are a brotherhood bound by honor, our strength is in our numbers, we are S7!
*General Disclaimer- I can't type or spell
Clan Founder

S7 mrmiller
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 6123
Join date : 2008-03-19
Location : Oklahoma
GamerTag : mrmiller

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Panzer on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:50 pm

I also have a working Turtle Beach X4's. The only complaint I have is the cable from the headset to the controllers which plays xbox chat volume is flimsy and breaks often. I have replaced that part 3 times now only costing about $7 but still a waste of time. Other then that I have had the same headset for over 2 years and its worn but still works great.

_________________
Please Excuse My Panzish

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow." James Dean

S7 Panzer
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1801
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 24
Location : Kansas City, MO
GamerTag : XBOX: S7 Panzer STEAM: TinCrow

View user profile http://www.S7clan.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 DROOPY on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:52 pm

I have the Turtle Beach X41's and there ok, Any headset stereo or surround will make a big difference in FPS games, you'll be able to hear where they are coming from. I had the turtle beach wired stereo ones and vs the x41 surround sound ones, the x41's are better ,but not $120 better. If ya dont mind the wires or your wife doesent mind the wires. Buy a good surround sound wired headset and save som $$$.
Pros of the x41 are they are wireless(except the cable going to the chat port on the controller) sound better then stereo.
cons my x41's transmitter kills my b\g\n wifi to a slow crawl, prob beacuse its right next to the router., batterys die without warning, and really don't sound that much better then the $50 wired stereo TB.
only advice I have check the other post, buy them locally so you can take them back if ya don't like them, try out a friends, and get some that have felt ear cuffs, the pleather ones suck and you ears will be hot and hurt after gaming for hours.

_________________

S7 DROOPY
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 3079
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 40
Location : Tulsa, Oklahoma
GamerTag : S7 DROOPY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 mrmiller on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:27 pm

The truth is to get some kind of headphones, even if they are only stereo phones you hook up directly to your sound system. Unless you have a surround sound system and can crank it up, headphones make all the difference. I have been playing with headphones since back in the Xbox connect days with Halo and my old Sennheizer Dolby headphone decoder!

~mrmiller

_________________

We are a brotherhood bound by honor, our strength is in our numbers, we are S7!
*General Disclaimer- I can't type or spell
Clan Founder

S7 mrmiller
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 6123
Join date : 2008-03-19
Location : Oklahoma
GamerTag : mrmiller

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by DerangeMaverick on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:30 pm

I have the detnators from tritton so i like them but im also looking for a suround sound headset but it looks like ill be going with the astros a40s since they're both ps3 and xbox capable.

DerangeMaverick
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 659
Join date : 2011-09-29
Age : 35
Location : Los Angeles
GamerTag : DerangeMaverick

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 R0LLING THUND3R on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:35 pm

I have the updated Tritton AX Pro's they have 4 speakers in each ear for a 5.1 surround sound experience and a non farting mic lol. My previous version of the same when owned by Tritton had issues. But madcatz fixed all that. I'm very happy with the plus they're cheaper than the Astro's, if price isn't a issue those are really good too. The Triitons are around 179.00 And they are compatable with Xbox 360, PS3, and PC.


Last edited by S7 R0LLING THUND3R on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

S7 R0LLING THUND3R
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1079
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 42
Location : Perris, Ca
GamerTag : R0LLING THUND3R

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Sticky on Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:37 pm

i have tirtton AX pros

they have great sound
if you can deal with all the wires it has as well


but if you have the money i would go astros

_________________

Clan Founder

S7 Sticky
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 10432
Join date : 2008-11-10
Age : 28
Location : El Paso Tx
GamerTag : S7 Sticky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:50 pm

I've got a set of Turtle Beach X31's and I've been using them for almost 2 years now. I really like them and they get the job done for me. The sound quality is good and I get what I want out of them. However, I was coming from the standard xbox headset and/or the wireless one, so there was a great improvement from those when I got the Turtle Beach set.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet / PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current  Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6739
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 ceebunks on Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:18 pm

Thanks for the input guys. I bought a pair of triitons, a couple of you mentioned them and knightowl uses them also. I would like to have some Astros but dont really want to buck up that much cash. The triitons were reasonably priced and almost any decent headset is going to blow the cheapies xbox gives with the system away. I will let you know what i think of them after i play with them a bit. Oh by the way if anyone cares best buy just started selling turtle beach mw3 headsets today. Prices ranged from $99 to $299.

S7 ceebunks
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Posts : 87
Join date : 2011-10-04
Age : 36
Location : Ofallon, MO
GamerTag : S7 ceebunks

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by Pharaoh Amun Ra on Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:29 pm

I wish I could add some value to this thread but my A30's haven't arrived yet. According to UPS, I'm looking at Nov 1st. Smh, WTF?! I shoul've just paid for the next day delievery.

_________________

Carpe diem

Pharaoh Amun Ra
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : Halo 4 3rd in command
Posts : 377
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 31
Location : Tallahassee
GamerTag : Pharaoh Amun Ra

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 ROWDYFLASH on Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:14 pm

Tritton Ax 720 baby!!

S7 ROWDYFLASH
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 232
Join date : 2011-10-22
Age : 45
Location : Beebe, Arkansas
GamerTag : S7 ROWDYFLASH

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Coolhand on Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:39 pm

I'm using Droopy's handmedown Turtle Beach X1s, big improvement over none at all but the headphones jack in the mixamp is constantly loose so I have to mess with it in game so I can hear chat. I am definitely getting the totally wireless surround Trittons when they drop, been holding our for wireless surround.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 ceebunks on Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:47 pm

one other thing i read about the triitons is that they work well with ppl that wear glasses. i heard that the turtle beaches will push glasses against your head more and after a while of playing will get annoying.

S7 ceebunks
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Posts : 87
Join date : 2011-10-04
Age : 36
Location : Ofallon, MO
GamerTag : S7 ceebunks

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Sticky on Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:49 pm

i have gamed with both turtle x41 and my tritton ax pros

and the trittons are better as far as people with glasses they dont see to smash them into your head

_________________

Clan Founder

S7 Sticky
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 10432
Join date : 2008-11-10
Age : 28
Location : El Paso Tx
GamerTag : S7 Sticky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 mrmiller on Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:11 pm

My X41's don't make a difference with my glasses at all. It might be just the frames, but I never have a problem.

~mrmiller

_________________

We are a brotherhood bound by honor, our strength is in our numbers, we are S7!
*General Disclaimer- I can't type or spell
Clan Founder

S7 mrmiller
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 6123
Join date : 2008-03-19
Location : Oklahoma
GamerTag : mrmiller

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 DROOPY on Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:27 pm

It's bad enough we all like to play video games all the time, you guys got to lose the glasses and get some contacts and up your real life game! Come on players! Get Yo pimp on! I mean,it's atleast +50 pussy mana plus the ladykiller perk!

_________________

S7 DROOPY
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 3079
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 40
Location : Tulsa, Oklahoma
GamerTag : S7 DROOPY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:08 pm

DROOPYmcC00L wrote:It's bad enough we all like to play video games all the time, you guys got to lose the glasses and get some contacts and up your real life game! Come on players! Get Yo pimp on! I mean,it's atleast +50 pussy mana plus the ladykiller perk!

I don't trust myself putting my finger in my eye and I've heard horror stories of people "losing" their contacts in their eyes... not gonna happen. And while my insurance does some serious damage on laser surgery bills, I don't trust some doctor to zap my eyes with a laser. Glasses are good for me now and they don't have any issues with my X31's.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet / PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current  Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6739
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Coolhand on Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:15 am

Lawl Droopy!
I believe people that had the contact slip behind their eye slept with them in. REM sleep and contacts don't mix. A closed eyelid with eye movement could cause it.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by Atrum on Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:30 am

Lol gla I don't need glasses or apparently my game would go down haha. Especially since the one time I tried colored contacts (from an optometrist friend so not cheap ones) it took me an hour to get one in and I had to take it out after 20 min of terrible.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7826
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by DerangeMaverick on Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:40 pm

I use contacts when im out and about and glasses at home to kick it. I have gamed with glasses using the detonators and they dont squeeze my head or glasses they work great.

DerangeMaverick
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 659
Join date : 2011-09-29
Age : 35
Location : Los Angeles
GamerTag : DerangeMaverick

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by S7 Interseptor on Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:48 pm

I wear contact mostly but I have been wearing glasses a lot more recently. I found a pair I actually like, kind of retro. At any rate, My Astro A30's are good with either. No discomfort with or without glasses, even playing for hours on end.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8542
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on new headsets

Post by Sponsored content Today at 2:41 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum