Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:22 am

Saw an open box special at Bestbuy so impulse bought this racing wheel from Madcat - I knew what to expect from Madcat, cheap quality, but thought I could get by at least a while with this until I can upgrade it - my priority are to get a badass headset. Well, I really enjoyed racing with a wheel and don't miss the force feedback - I read it is all one power so doesn't really give you a feel for the road - I don't need anything else fighting me while I'm trying to stay on the road. I'm returning it tomorrow. Cons: short cord, cheap feel to it especially the pedals, the gear shifter is pointless as you would want to use the paddles rather than take your hand from the wheel to hit up or down on it, plus it makes a terrible noise when you do. So yeah, I'm going to get the Microsoft Wireles Racing Wheel, one for sale for $65 on craigs list here in Tulsa.
I think I will also get this stand http://www.amazon.com/Regular-Xlerator-Microsoft-Xbox-360-Adapter/dp/B002TMCX4I
Should be cool. At least cooler. Wish I already had it.

Review conclusion - good for kids but its just a toy - I need tools! Save your money and buy quality.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Epic on Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:12 am

Force feedback is what makes the wheels so awesome. If it's too much for you, you can always turn the strength of it down.

S7 Epic
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 3130
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 28
Location : Leeds, UK
GamerTag : S7 Epic DDN

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:50 pm

S7 Coolhand wrote:the gear shifter is pointless as you would want to use the paddles rather than take your hand from the wheel to hit up or down on it

Not true in my case sir.
Honestly I'd prefer to have the gearshift as opposed to the racing paddles on the rear of the wheel. Feels more realistic to me, as I don't own a Lambo or other foreign racing car with paddles Rolling Eyes

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by Atrum on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:08 pm

But you could very well be driving a lambo or foreign racing car. Thus the paddle shifters would be more realistic.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:11 pm

The gear shift on the MC2 just goes up and down half an inch, so there isn't much realism there. I do look forward to trying force feedback but am glad it is adjustable as I don't want to fight it too much - will be nice to know when I'm teetering on the edge of losing grip though. Button mapping is crucial - couldn't do that with MC2 - I want the E-brake to be more accessible - I'll probably assign it to a paddle since I auto shift.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:20 pm

You don't EVER want to e-brake. Seriously! I never use mine except to spin out across the finish line. It won't stop you and will cause you to loose grip and speed in a corner.

The only other use for e-brake (aside from spinning across the finish line) is in a last ditch effort to turn your car sideways during a collision (to protect the engine). Like if you are out of control and headed for the wall, you would use the e-brake to spin the back end around into the wall and hopefully avoid engine damage.

If you are using the e-brake to make a standard turn... STOP. Your doing it wrong. Break earlier, turn in and accelerate out.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:26 pm

lol thanks, I don't use e-brake unless I need a little extra braking because I didn't start slowing down early enough and will leave the track without it, or to avoid collision to my engine. I learned early on that it often makes you skid and skidding means everyone behind you will be catching up. The MC2 has the A button in a shtty spot where its d@mn near impossible to use, especially when turning left.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by Atrum on Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:30 pm

I set my fastest lap time on mugello club only using e-brake in fast pulses lol. Was bored and playing around with it and just happened to hit my lines perfect.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:09 pm

AtrumX wrote:But you could very well be driving a lambo or foreign racing car. Thus the paddle shifters would be more realistic.
True too, but honestly 97.598% of my time in Forza is spent in a mustang of some sort on the game...LOL
I have one for each class Embarassed Rolling Eyes

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 DROOPY on Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:57 pm

I got this for Forza and It works pretty damm good

_________________

S7 DROOPY
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 3079
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 40
Location : Tulsa, Oklahoma
GamerTag : S7 DROOPY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:05 pm

You have me interested...Here are the (5) closest stores to me right now. Thought I'd grab a MadCat wheel tonight. Are they really $100??? Shocked I thought the MS wheel was more than MadCat (but still only around $60-80). So the MS wheel costs even more?

Best Buy
4500 Wisconsin Avenue Northwest, Washington D.C.
(202) 895-1580 - Open today 10am-9pm $99.99
Limited stock

Best Buy
8449 Leesburg Pike, Vienna VA.
(703) 748-9814 - Open today 10am-9pm $99.99
Limited stock

Best Buy
9652 Main Street, Fairfax VA.
(703) 764-7440 - Open today 10am-10pm $99.99
Limited stock

Best Buy
5799 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church VA.
(703) 671-0184 - Open today 10am-9pm $99.99
Limited stock

Best Buy
5901 Stevenson Avenue, Alexandria VA.
(703) 823-8469 - Open today 10am-9pm $99.99
Out of stock

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:13 pm

yeah they are $100 new without a deal. The Microsoft one is $499 new. Crazy huh?

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:24 pm

What? you're kidding right?

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 DROOPY on Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:42 pm

Here is one that sick and it's only $250, still crazy
http://www.fanatec.com/pwgt2

_________________

S7 DROOPY
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 3079
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 40
Location : Tulsa, Oklahoma
GamerTag : S7 DROOPY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:17 pm

Other than price, looks like it works!!
I thought the MS wheel (or MadCats knock-off) was the only thing that worked with 360?

-------------------------------------------------------
Compatibility

Xbox 360

The Porsche 911 GT2 Wheel is compatible with all games which support Force Feedback steering wheels (Microsoft Wireless Racing Wheel for Xbox 360). The 6+1 speed shifter is compatible to all future games which support this shifter. All games will support 900 steering angle and you can adjust the angle independent from the game in the TUNING menu of the racing wheel but please note that high steering angles will only work properly if the game was programmed and tested with such a wheel

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:50 pm

DROOPYmcC00L wrote:Here is one that sick and it's only $250, still crazy
http://www.fanatec.com/pwgt2
Wow that one is sweet! Will consider it if this craigs list deal falls through.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:04 pm

S7 Coolhand wrote:
DROOPYmcC00L wrote:Here is one that sick and it's only $250, still crazy
http://www.fanatec.com/pwgt2
Wow that one is sweet! Will consider it if this craigs list deal falls through.

Oh yeah, that is the one to have for sure. The nicest 360 compatible wheel that I know of. I am surprised you didn't come across it in your research.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:08 pm

Get the stand too...

RennSport Cockpit Triple Monitor Stand
[RSC 3M] $249.00

http://www.fanatec.de/webshop/new_usa/product_info.php?cPath=30&products_id=49&osCsid=4ae791b766746c123d48e3ed66048319




_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Epic on Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:33 am

The MS wheel is $499 because is discontinued. So they're like gold dust new.

S7 Epic
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 3130
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 28
Location : Leeds, UK
GamerTag : S7 Epic DDN

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:43 am

Yeah, I think it was like $249.00 new originally.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:19 pm

That stand is ridiculous Klown! Would be awesome, but I can't buy new TVs right now. The stand I found http://www.amazon.com/Regular-Xlerator-Microsoft-Xbox-360-Adapter/dp/B002TMCX4I should do fine I think. Waiting to hear back from this lady selling the wheel - here's the ad -let me know what you guys think:
http://tulsa.craigslist.org/vgm/2311142431.html
I'm thinking she doesn't know what it is really worth.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:40 pm

Looks good to me Coolhand.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 K1ll3rKlown on Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:13 pm

I'm about to find one of these online craigslist or something and pop the back open and direct connect one of my consoles to the screen. I'm pretty sure it can be done right? Check it out this baby has the clutch, gear shifter and everything already...man I miss the old days LOL
-------------

_________________


S7 K1ll3rKlown
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 5615
Join date : 2008-03-18
Age : 45
Location : Upper Marlboro, Maryland
GamerTag : S7 K1ll3rKlown

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by S7 Coolhand on Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:33 pm

Very Happy she still has it and wants to meet tonight... after 7:00pm cst... that means I will probably not be able to be on forza at 7:30, which sucks cause I have cars built & tuned for it. Oh well, if I have to miss one night to go ahead and get a great deal, sobeit.

Klown, I don't see why you couldn't do it, but it would be a good deal of labor, you would still have to buy a new screen, maybe other interface issues with the hardware, who knows. Would be awesome if you could pull it off.

_________________

S7 Coolhand

Posts : 5771
Join date : 2010-02-25
Age : 36
Location : Oklahoma City
GamerTag : S7 Coolhand

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by PootyPoo22 on Thu Apr 14, 2011 7:29 pm

You would also have to modify the gear shift as well since there are only four gears on that one. Add some paddles too

PootyPoo22
Sergeant
Sergeant

Posts : 233
Join date : 2010-11-23
Age : 28
Location : Indiana
GamerTag : PootyPoo22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Post by Sponsored content Today at 3:27 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum