Razer Onza Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Razer Onza Review

Post by Atrum on Fri Mar 25, 2011 12:28 pm

So mine was delivered this past wednesday but I havent been able to pick it up yet (work out of town).
I'll be back in town tonight and will post a review of the Tournament Edition and how much it pwns. This will be where I update it.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 wonky on Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:22 pm

WELL a my control sorta broke... (hiting run to much)

and was looking into this controller so review soon as possible ;]

_________________

S7 wonky
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1096
Join date : 2010-02-26
Age : 28
Location : palm beach,fl

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by Atrum on Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:41 am

Well, got in in and tried it out in CoD and Crysis 2. Triggers are shaped a little diff and take some getting used to be end up feeling a lot better very quickly. The buttons are unreal. They click SO much easer. You can just slide your finger in circles hitting ABYX. The D-pad is great. Control sticks feel Very smooth. The adjustable resistance is cool, but not completely necessary. I like it because I've always preferred having my right stick harder to move than the left.

Very cool looking controller. The LB RB and secondary LB RB are a tiny bit cluttered but still click great. I think if I bother programming them (via a button on the bottom of the controller) they'll be pretty useful. I imagine it would be nice to remap Y or A to those buttons so every game can have something similar to Bumper Jumper.

Definitely recommend getting it. The wire is VERY long and made of some weird material that reminds me of the monster xbox cables. Steel mesh like, so very durable.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 Interseptor on Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:13 am

Nice, I think I am going to order one. Thanks for the review Atrum.

_________________
"Console A sucks! Console B is way better and never has problems!
I don't know how to build a cheap PC that out performs both! Rabble rabble!!"


Current PS4 Games: Dirt, Paragon, Fallout 4, Dark Souls 3
Current Clan Rank: Clan Adviser
Clan Founder (aka DarkHorse)

S7 Interseptor
Clan Advisor
Clan Advisor

Posts : 8540
Join date : 2008-03-21
Age : 37
Location : Kosciusko, MS
GamerTag : PSN: Interseptor_

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 mrmiller on Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:59 am

I'm assuming that the chat pad does not work on it? I need something with some resistance on the click of the right thumbstick, as I seem to hit that on accident a lot in Crysis. Never had the problem in COD, so I don't know if mine is wearing out, or Crysis is just more intense- LOL.

~mrmiller

_________________

We are a brotherhood bound by honor, our strength is in our numbers, we are S7!
*General Disclaimer- I can't type or spell
Clan Founder

S7 mrmiller
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 6123
Join date : 2008-03-19
Location : Oklahoma
GamerTag : mrmiller

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by Atrum on Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:06 pm

I don't have the chat pad so no clue. I did notice that the mic jack is a lot more snug. I thought it was nice as you really can't accidentally pull the mic out now.

All clicks are amazing. They really make a good snapping sound. Only exception are the ABXY buttons, which feel just like clicking a razer mouse.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 Sticky on Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:25 pm

mmm might pick up one know need one with a better mic connection

_________________

Clan Founder

S7 Sticky
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 10432
Join date : 2008-11-10
Age : 28
Location : El Paso Tx
GamerTag : S7 Sticky

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by Atrum on Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:27 pm

Yeah the only thing that I wasn't ecstatic about was the change to the triggers. I've always had my fingers directly on the tip of the trigger, and that's kinda impossible on these. Ended up feeling good even with adjusting that grip.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 R0LLING THUND3R on Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:51 pm

Also for those that care...you can adjust the sensitivity of the anolog sticks by holding the 2 remap buttons on the back then plugging in the USB to your xbox...your controller will flash...(the xbox button) then let go rear buttons. Then press A that will increase it to 100% sensitivity. Press Y will set it to default in case that's too insane for you.

S7 R0LLING THUND3R
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1079
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 42
Location : Perris, Ca
GamerTag : R0LLING THUND3R

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by DeadSockPuppet on Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:06 pm

AtrumX wrote:I like it because I've always preferred having my right stick harder to move than the left.

Huh, firm right stick...ok. I guess that explains everything??? J/K Very Happy Sounds like it's a pretty solid controller though.

_________________
~~Wife: Yup, I'd shoot you in the leg, cuz then we'd have a crawler.~~
~~Star Wars is like Dirty Dancing for dudes. Nobody puts Chewbacca in a corner, okay?~~
 photo skyrimsig.png
XBL GT: S7 SockPuppet / PSN ID: DeadSockPuppet
Current  Command: 1st Time Daddy
Clan Command History: Gears of War 3 XO, MW3 Warrant Officer W2
Current PS4 Games: Destiny, Fallout 4, R6 Siege, Uncharted Drake Collection, The Division
Current Xbox 360 Games: None

DeadSockPuppet
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Game Command : GOW3 XO, MW3 W2
Posts : 6735
Join date : 2010-03-01
Age : 36
Location : Hudsonville, MI
GamerTag : S7 SockPuppet / DeadSockPuppet

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 mrmiller on Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:50 pm

So what are your impressions now after using it for a while? Better than the 360 wireless, or can you tell much of a difference?

~mrmiller

_________________

We are a brotherhood bound by honor, our strength is in our numbers, we are S7!
*General Disclaimer- I can't type or spell
Clan Founder

S7 mrmiller
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Posts : 6123
Join date : 2008-03-19
Location : Oklahoma
GamerTag : mrmiller

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by S7 R0LLING THUND3R on Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:02 pm

S7 mrmiller wrote:So what are your impressions now after using it for a while? Better than the 360 wireless, or can you tell much of a difference?

~mrmiller

No lag...much better controller...buttons very sensitive...fast action...no trigger creep. Aim downsight faster and shoot faster. I got one of the bad batches tho but it's tolerable.

S7 R0LLING THUND3R
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Posts : 1079
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 42
Location : Perris, Ca
GamerTag : R0LLING THUND3R

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by Atrum on Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:32 pm

Only possible downside I've seen is the Onza does not 'click' like new MS controllers do for analog sticks. Still just as fast, but feels different.

_________________

Clan History: R6 Vegas XO, Chromehounds XO, GoW 1 GC, Homefront XO, GoW 3 GC, Halo 4 GC, COD Ghosts Warrant Officer
***Pwning OC since 2/5/2006

Atrum
Colonel
Colonel

Posts : 7824
Join date : 2010-02-28
Age : 27
Location : Spokane, WA
GamerTag : AtrumX

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Razer Onza Review

Post by Sponsored content Today at 5:08 am


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum